Prev Next

Workspace Layouts

As you perform work on your model you use various toolbars and windows; you will quite likely use the same toolbars and windows regularly, in an arrangement that suits the way in which you use the system. Rather than having to re-open and arrange these tools at the start of each work session, you can use either a predefined or a customized work environment or workspace. Workspaces:

  • Automatically open and organize all the tools appropriate to an area of work such as Requirements Management, Code Engineering and Debugging
  • Help a new user by:
         -  Opening the tools that are appropriate to a task so that they can immediately get started, and
         -  Showing the user what tools they should become familiar with for that area of work
  • Help you switch rapidly to work environments for either successive or completely different areas of work
  • Re-establish a work environment that you have accidentally or deliberately changed

To select, create and maintain workspaces you use the 'Workspaces' page of the 'Workspace Layout' dialog, which lists the currently-available system and user-defined layouts.

Access

Ribbon

Start > View > Workspace > Select a Workspace

Manage Layouts

Task

Description

See also

Change workspace layout

The 'Last Applied Workspace' field at the bottom of the 'Workspace Layout' dialog identifies the layout last selected, before any changes you might have made.

You can change the layout to:

  • The original layout (as identified by the 'Last Applied Workspace' field), discarding any changes you might have made
  • One of the other named layouts, or
  • A new named, customized layout, capturing the current screen layout and including any changes you have made to the previously-applied layout

To change the layout in use, either:

  • Click on the preferred layout name and on the Apply button, or
  • Double-click on the required layout name, or
  • Right-click on the layout name and select the 'Apply' option

Copy workspace layout

  • Right-click on the layout name and select the 'Copy As New' option

The 'Save Custom Workspace Layout' dialog displays.

In the 'Custom Workspace Layout' field, type a name for the layout. By selecting an existing name you can change an existing layout to something different. Click on the Save button.

If you already have tailored windows or views open that you want to include in your selected layout, select the 'Include active custom views' checkbox.

Delete workspace layout

Right-click on the (custom) layout name and select the 'Delete' option. A prompt displays for you to confirm or cancel the deletion.

Notes

  • If you apply a working set that invokes floating diagrams or views, it will override the current workspace layout with the layout that was in use when the working set was defined
  • If you develop a workspace layout that would be useful for your colleagues, you can share it with them by incorporating it in an MDG Technology that they can download

Learn more